The following pages summarise the parish specific resources available to researchers including the following categories :

Church of England, Catholic and Nonconformist registers, transcripts and indices, cemetery registers, Bishop's Transcripts, Archdeacon's Transcripts
Coverage of general indices to the above including the IGI, Boyd's Marriage Index, the Joiner Marriage Index and the National Burial Index
Transcripts and indices of monumental inscriptions
Transcripts and indices of Census records 1841-1901
Churchwardens' accounts, vestry minutes, glebe terriers, poor law accounts, settlement and removal papers and other sundry parish records
Tithe and enclosure maps, apportionments and schedules, other maps
Relevant manorial documents, family and estate archives
Civic records for towns

PARISH LIST                Under development (only hyperlinked parishes have been released)

The letters following each parish show the principal repository for the related parish records.

The 41 ancient parishes of the Wapentake of Langbaurgh (the initial focus of this study)

Acklam, St. Mary [TA] Hinderwell [NYCRO] Middlesbrough, St. Mary Acklam [TA]
Appleton Wiske [NYCRO] Hutton Rudby [NYCRO] Newton-under-Roseberry, St. Oswald [TA]
Brotton, St. Margaret [TA] Ingleby Arncliffe [NYCRO] Ormesby, St. Cuthbert [TA]
Carlton-in-Cleveland [NYCRO] Ingleby Greenhow [NYCRO] Roxby [NYCRO]
Crathorne [NYCRO] Kildale [NYCRO] Seamer-in-Cleveland [NYCRO]
Danby [NYCRO] Kirby-in-Cleveland [NYCRO] Skelton, All Saints [TA]
Easington, All Saints [TA] Kirkleatham, St. Cuthbert [TA] Stainton-in-Cleveland, St. Peter and St. Paul (incl Thornaby chapelry) [TA]
East Rounton [NYCRO] Kirkleavington, St. Martin [TA] Stokesley [NYCRO]
Egton, St. Hilda [NYCRO] Leven [NYCRO] Upleatham, St. Andrew [TA]
Eston, Christ Church [TA] Liverton, St. Michael / St. Martin [TA] Westerdale [NYCRO]
Glaisdale [NYCRO] Loftus, St. Leonard [TA] Whorlton [NYCRO]
Great Ayton [NYCRO] Lythe [NYCRO] Wilton, All Saints / St. Cuthbert [TA]
Guisborough, St. Nicholas [TA] Marske-by-the-Sea, St. Germaine / St. Mark [TA] Yarm, St. Mary Magdalene [TA]
Hilton, St. Peter [TA] Marton-in-Cleveland, St. Cuthbert [TA]

Other adjacent ancient parishes (the secondary area of focus)

Eskdaleside [NYCRO] High Worsall [NYCRO] West Rounton [NYCRO]
Fylingdales [NYCRO] Pickering [NYCRO] Whitby [NYCRO]
Goathland [NYCRO] Sneaton [NYCRO]
Great Smeaton [NYCRO] Ugglebarnby [NYCRO]

Parishes created after 1830 within the Wapentake of Langbaurgh (the third area of focus, beginning with the oldest parishes)

Boosbeck, St. Aidan [TA] Middlesbrough, St. Chad [TA] Middlesbrough, St. Thomas & St. Peter, Brambles Farm & Thorntree [TA]
Carlin How, St. Helen [TA] Middlesbrough, St. Barnabas [TA] New Marske, St. Thomas [TA]
Coatham, Christ Church [TA] Middlesbrough, St. Columba [TA] North Ormesby, Holy Trinity [TA]
Dormanstown, All Saints [TA] Middlesbrough, St. Cuthbert [TA] Nunthorpe, St. Mary the Virgin [TA]
Grangetown, St. Matthew [TA] Middlesbrough, St. Hilda [TA] Redcar, St. Peter [TA]
Hemlington, St. Timothy [TA] Middlesbrough, St. John with St. Michael & All Angels [TA] Saltburn, Emmanuel [TA]
Linthorpe, St. Barnabas [TA] Middlesbrough, St. Martin [TA] South Bank, St. John [TA]
Middlesbrough, All Saints [TA] Middlesbrough, St. Oswald with St. Mark [TA] Thornaby, St. Luke [TA]
Middlesbrough, The Ascension [TA] Middlesbrough, St. Paul [TA] Thornaby, St. Paul [TA]
Middlesbrough, St. Aidan with St. Alban [TA] Middlesbrough, St. Peter [TA] Thornaby, St. Peter ad Vincula [TA]

Other parishes incorporated into the modern County of Cleveland (those shaded in grey are post-1830, the final area of focus)

Billingham, St. Aidan [TA] Long Newton, St. Mary [TA] Stockton, St. Paul [TA]
Billingham, St. Cuthbert [TA] Norton, St. Mary [TA] Stockton, St. Peter [TA]
Billingham, St. Luke [TA] Norton, St. Michael [TA] Stockton, St. Thomas [TA]
Egglescliffe, St. John the Baptist [TA] Preston-on-Tees, All Saints [TA] Stranton, All Saints [TA]
Elton, St. John [TA] Redmarshall, St. Cuthbert [TA] West Hartlepool, Christ Church [TA]
Elwick Hall, St. Peter [TA] Seaton Carew, Holy Trinity [TA] West Hartlepool, St. Aidan [TA]
Greatham, St. John the Baptist [TA] Stillington, St. John [TA] West Hartlepool, St. Oswald [TA]
Grindon, St. James [TA] Stockton, Holy Trinity [TA] West Hartlepool, St. Paul [TA]
Hart, St. Mary Magdalene [TA] Stockton, St. Chad [TA] West Hartlepool, St. James [TA]
Hartlepool, Holy Trinity [TA] Stockton, St. James [TA] West Hartlepool, St. Matthew [TA]
Hartlepool, St. Barnabas [TA] Stockton, St. James (parish of St. Chad) [TA] Wolviston, St. Peter [TA]
Hartlepool, St. Hilda [TA] Stockton, St. John [TA]
Haverton Hill, St. John [TA] Stockton, St. Mark [TA]

This page was last updated on 24 May, 2002